November 1, 2011

Governor’s Health Care Reform Task Force

On Monday, October 31st, Governor Mark Dayton announced the members for the long awaited Health Care Reform Task Force. The Task Force was created by law in the 2010 legislative session. The purpose of the group is to advise the Governor and the Legislature on health care reform specifically in the areas of better health care, lower costs and healthier communities. The Task Force will develop an action plan for reforming how we deliver and pay for health care in Minnesota.The Governor noted Minnesota’s leadership in the health care arena and the healthiness of its citizens. “Health care costs are rising at unsustainable rates, undermining the budgets of Minnesota families, businesses, and our state and federal government budgets,” said Dayton.

The Task Force members are:
• Commissioner Lucinda Jesson (DHS) – CHAIR
• Commissioner Mike Rothman (Commerce)
• Commissioner Ed Ehlinger (MDH)
• Pete Benner, former Executive Director for AFSCME Council 6 (Minneapolis)
• Mary Brainerd, President and CEO, HealthPartners (Bloomington)
• Michael Connelly, Senior Vice President – Strategy and Planning, Xcel Energy, Inc. (Minneapolis)
• MyKao Hang, President/CEO, Amherst H. Wilder Foundation (St. Paul)
• Jan Malcolm, CEO, Courage Center (Golden Valley)
• Ralonda Mason, Supervising Attorney, St Cloud Area Legal Services (St. Cloud)
• Judy Russell-Martin, MN Nurses Association, Board Member (St. Paul)
• Dale Thompson, President and CEO, Benedictine Health System (Cambridge)
• Dr. Doug Wood, Professor, Mayo Clinic (Rochester)
• Dr. Therese Zink, Professor of Medicine, U of M (Zumbrota)
• (2) Members of the Minnesota House (named by the Speaker)
• (2) Members of the Minnesota Senate (named by the Majority Leader)

The Department of Commerce also announced the formation of the Commerce Department Health Insurance Exchange Advisory Task Force. The 15 member task force will work in consultation with the Commissioner of Commerce to develop a Minnesota Health Insurance Exchange ensuring access to affordable, high-quality health coverage that maximizes consumer choice and minimizes adverse selection.
The HIE Task Force members are:
• Sue Abderholden, Executive Director of the Minnesota Alliance on Mental Illness (St. Paul)
• Dannette Coleman, Vice President/General Manager, Individual and Family Business, Medica (Minnetonka)
• Phillip Cryan, Health Policy Specialist and Organizing Director, SEIU (St. Paul)
• Mary Foarde, Attorney, Fmr. General Counsel, Allina (Minneapolis)
• Dorii Gbolo – CEO/Executive Director, Board Member, Open Cities Health Center (St. Paul)
• Robert Hanlon, Founder and President of Corporate Health Systems (Chaska)
• Alfred Babington Johnson, CEO, Stair Step Foundation (Minneapolis)
• Roger Kathol, Owner, Cartesian Solutions, Inc. (Burnsville)
• Phil Norrgard, Director of Human Services, Fond du Lac Indian Tribe (Cloquet)
• Stephanie Radtke Deputy Director, Community Services Division, Dakota County (West St. Paul)
• Daniel Schmidt, Vice President, Great River Office Products (St. Paul)
• (2) Majority Caucus Legislators (House & Senate)
• (2) Minority Caucus Legislators (House & Senate)
• Commerce Commissioner Mike Rothman (ex-officio/CHAIR)
• DHS Commissioner Lucinda Jesson (ex-officio)
• MDH Commissioner Ed Ehlinger (ex-officio)